Puede usar las teclas derecha/izquierda para votar el artículo.Votación:1 estrella2 estrellas3 estrellas4 estrellas5 estrellas (1 votos, promedio: 5.00 sobre 5)



Madrid / Nicaraguan Sergio Ramírez has been awarded today with the Cervantes Prize 2017, the first Central American writer who has been recognized with this award, for reflecting in his literature “the liveliness of everyday life, turning reality into a work of art”.

This was announced at a press conference by the Minister for Education, Culture and Sport, Íñigo Méndez de Vigo, along with Eduardo Mendoza, Cervantes Prize 2016, and the director of the Royal Academy (RAE), Darío Villanueva, who has presided over the jury that has awarded by majority this prize.

Considered the Nobel Prize for literature in Spanish and endowed with 125,000 euros, this edition of the award has returned to fulfill the unwritten law that distributes the award, endowed with 125,000 euros, alternatively between Hispanic America and Spain.

After seven ballots and more than three hours, the jury awarded the award to Ramírez “for combining narration and poetry and the rigour of the observer and the actor in his work, as well as reflecting the liveliness of everyday life turning reality in a work of art, all with a special literary height and in a plurality of genres, such as the story, the novel and journalistic columnism”.

The minister has announced the award of the prize to Ramírez by telephone who, from Nicaragua, has shown his gratitude and pride: “a good way to start the day,” said the new winner of the Cervantes Prize.

The president of the jury explained how difficult the election of the winner has been for the number of candidates and highlighted Ramírez’s narrative both in novels and short stories, as well as being a “master of narrators”.

Dario Villanueva highlighted the coincidence of this award to a Nicaraguan with the recent centenary of Rubén Darío.

On the other hand, the winner of the Cervantes Prize 2016 Eduardo Mendoza has expressed his joy because the prize has fallen to the Nicaraguan writer, although he has been displeased because today he has finished his “reign”.

Created in 1975 by the Ministry of Culture of Spain, Cervantes Prize recognizes the career of an author who has contributed to enrich the Hispanic literary legacy.

At the end of the press conference, the minister also thanked the fact that on this occasion the name of the winner has not been leaked to any means of communication before being announced by him, as happened in the previous two years.

Thus, the members from the jury have entered the deliberations without mobile phones, to avoid any leakage.

The jury has been integrated by Darío Villanueva (RAE); Beatriz Vegh (Royal National Academy of Letters of Uruguay); Carmen Ruiz (Conference of Rectors of Spanish Universities); Diego Valadés (Union of Latin American Universities) Esperanza López Parada (Instituto Cervantes) and Antonio Pau (Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports).

María del Carmen Pérez from Armiñán (FAPAE); Ileana Alamilla (FELAP); María Augusta da Costa (International Association of Hispanists) and Eduardo Mendoza, are the rest of the members of the jury.

In addition to Eduardo Mendoza, Fernando del Paso, Juan Goytisolo, Elena Poniatowska, José Manuel Caballero Bonald, Nicanor Parra and Ana María Matute have been awarded in the previous years. (November 16, 2017, EFE/Practica Español)

News related in video:


Lee la noticia y responde las preguntas. (Read answer the questions)

Congratulations - you have completed Lee la noticia y responde las preguntas. (Read answer the questions). You scored %%SCORE%% out of %%TOTAL%%. Your performance has been rated as %%RATING%%
Your answers are highlighted below.
Question 1
En la noticia se dice que…
aún se desconoce quién ha ganado el Premio Cervantes 2017.
ha sido anunciado el nombre del ganador del Premio Cervantes 2017.
el Premio Cervantes 2017 ha sido entregado a Sergio Ramírez.
Question 2
En la noticia se dice que…
un escritor de América Central es el ganador de este premio.
un escritor de la capital de España es el ganador de este premio.
un escritor de América del Sur es el ganador de este premio.
Question 3
En el texto se dice que…
las bases del premio se explican el porqué este premio se otorga de forma alterna.
es poco frecuente que haya una alternancia a la hora de otorgar este premio.
es frecuente que este premio sea concedido de forma alterna autores de Hispanoamérica y de España.
Question 4
Quien gana este premio…
no recibe nada de dinero por haber ganado.
recibe mucho dinero por haber sido elegido ganador.
recibe una pequeña cantidad de dinero.
Question 5
El anterior ganador del Premio Cervantes…
estuvo presente en la deliberación del jurado.
es el único que elige quién es el ganador de este año.
no estuvo presente en la deliberación del jurado.
Question 6
Según el jurado, la obra de Ramírez…
todavía no ha reflejado con suficiente expresividad la vida cotidiana.
muestra con cierta timidez cómo es la vida cotidiana.
plasma el día a día con mucha energía.
Question 7
El Premio Cervantes…
es el premio de literatura más importante en lengua española.
no solo se concede a escritores que escriben en el idioma español.
es un premio de escasa relevancia dentro de la literatura en lengua española.
Once you are finished, click the button below. Any items you have not completed will be marked incorrect. Get Results
There are 7 questions to complete.

Noticias relacionadas